• Bushra Rehman

    Bushra Rehman grew up in Corona, Queens but her mother says she was born in an ambulance flying through the streets of Brooklyn. Her father is not so sure, but it would explain a few things.

Roses, in the Mouth of a Lion

In the vein of On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, an unforgettable story about female friendship and queer love in a Muslim-American community. Punctuated by both joy and loss, full of ’80s music and beloved novels, Roses, in the Mouth of a Lion is a new classic: a fiercely compassionate coming-of-age story of a girl struggling to reconcile her heritage and faith with her desire to be true to herself.

PRE-ORDER YOUR COPY HERE

Writing

My Aba’s Masjid

My Aba’s Masjid These days there are fish who swim in and out of my Aba’s masjid.  The river runs slow and deep, and there are boats that run in the sky like air.   The ground where my ancestors’ foreheads touched in prayer has turned  into the sound of water, the sound of air, has […]

Roses, in the Mouth of a Lion

In the vein of On Earth We’re Briefly Gorgeous and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, an unforgettable story about female friendship and queer love in a Muslim-American community. Razia Mirza grows up amid the wild grape vines and backyard sunflowers of Corona, Queens, with her best friend, Saima, by her side. When a family rift drives the girls […]

COMPLICATING NARRATIVES: A CONVERSATION WITH BUSHRA REHMAN

THE RUMPUS By Tamiko Byer October 31st, 2018 Poet, novelist, and teaching artist Bushra Rehman knows a Queens bully when she sees one. In her first novel, Corona, and now in her new poetry collection, Marianna’s Beauty Salon, Rehman depicts a tough and tender New York City. Her writing is rooted in her experience of […]

THE NEWEST WAVE OF ASIAN-AMERICAN WRITERS YOU SHOULD KNOW

Literary Hub By Tamiko Byer October 5, 2018 Bushra Rehman  “Writing from life can be a tricky business,” notes Rehman. It’s an art that Rehman has deftly honed in both her poetry and fiction, and which she teaches in her long-running “Two Truths and a Lie” course. Rehman’s novel, Corona, and her recent poetry collection, […]

MARIANNA’S BEAUTY SALON: REVIEW

Publisher’s Weekly September 2018 In Rehman’s debut collection, indelible truths permeate slice-of-life recollections and blustery fantasies of desire. Alienation and intimacy, a sensation of stasis, and the comforts of a Queens immigrant household all mark the speaker’s physical and emotional universe. Rehman sardonically illuminates social shifts, such as the tensions of a world kept at […]